Women’s World Cup: Scotland 3-3 Argentina – Shelley Kerr bemoans officiating

Media playback is not supported on this device

‘Scotland feel hard done by’ – Kerr on World Cup elimination

Scotland suffered from “appalling” decisions in the draw with Argentina that ended their Women’s World Cup, says head coach Shelley Kerr.

The Scots led 3-0 but conceded twice before a twice-taken VAR-awarded penalty made it 3-3 in stoppage time.

Lee Alexander initially saved but was judged not to have had at least part of one foot on the goalline.

“I’m gutted for the players, gutted for the support, but the officiating was really, really poor,” said Kerr.

“For 70 minutes we played well. The bottom line is we have conceded three goals but the first goal is from a free-kick; that changes the whole complexion of the game.

“Some of the decisions were appalling to say the least. It doesn’t take away the fact we were comfortable in the game and conceded three goals but there is a ball on the pitch, we try and make a substitution and it’s just an absolute farce.”

Kerr was referring to referee Hyang-ok Ri allowing an Argentina free-kick to be taken while substitute Fiona Brown was coming on.

Media playback is not supported on this device

Dramatic scenes as VAR penalty retake sends Scots home

After losing 2-1 and conceding from a penalty against both England and Japan, Scotland needed to win to stand a chance of reaching the last 16.

With 16 minutes left and leading 3-0, they were on course to be one of the four best third-placed sides going into Thursday’s final fixtures in Groups E and F but the draw means they finish bottom of Group D.

Goals by Kim Little, Jen Beattie and Erin Cuthbert had put the Scots in control but Milagros Menendez got one back for Argentina and within five minutes it was 3-2 as a Florencia Bonsegundo shot went in via crossbar and Alexander’s hand – with it being adjudged an own goal by the Scotland keeper.

Then came the dramatic finale when Argentina were eventually awarded a penalty after Sophie Howard’s trip on Aldana Cometti was reviewed by the video assistant referee and Bonsegundo scored the spot-kick at the second attempt.

“People will argue you can’t concede three goals but it does put you under pressure when you concede one,” added Kerr.

“We didn’t deal with the ball around the edge of the box with the second one and obviously the third is a penalty.

“I can’t really say any more about the decisions. We have been a victim of them every game. We still have to do better and see the game out but right now it’s a bit raw.”

What Next?

Recent Articles

Leave a Reply

You must be Logged in to post comment.