• Sports Personality of the Year takes places in Belfast on Sunday evening
  • Lewis Hamilton, who won the coveted gong last year, is on the shortlist
  • Andy Murray led Great Britain to Davis Cup glory in Belgium last month
  • Tyson Fury defeated Wladimir Klitschko on points in Germany in November

Luke Augustus for MailOnline

On Sunday evening British and Irish sport rejoices as we celebrate our athletes’ feats over the past 12 months.

This year’s Sports Personality of the Year Awards ceremony takes place in Belfast with Andy Murray, Lewis Hamilton and Jessica Ennis-Hill among the contenders.

Will Hamilton be victorious after last year’s success or will someone else dethrone the F1 star. Follow the action from Northern Ireland with Sportsmail.

  • Luke Augustus

    Host commentator

He retired from professional football 21 years ago, but Gary Lineker still gets injuries. The BBC presenter walked on stage alongside Balding and fellow co-host Gabby Logan with a bloodied hand after hecut his finger on the SPOTY trophy. Ouch.

Boos ring around the SSE Arena as Tyson Fury’s name is read out by SPOTY presenter Clare Balding. Fury has courted controversy ahead of tonight’s ceremony due to his outspoken views on homosexuals and women.

Tonight’s star-studded ceremony is underway with pop star Ella Henderson kicking off the show with her new song Glitterball. A fitting, uplifting song to begin with as a montage of this year’s sporting feats accompany Henderson’s vocals.

New Zealand fly-half Dan Carter has been named BBC Overseas Sports Personality of the Year for 2015.

Carter beat Usain Bolt, Novak Djokovic, Katie Ledecky, Jordan Spieth and Serena Williams to the award that was decided by public vote for the first time.

The Racing 92 fly-half was crowned World Rugby player of the year after helping New Zealand retain the World Cup in October.

CLICK HERE to read more.

Dan Carter was named BBC Overseas Sports Personality of the Year

Throughout the build-up we’ll analyse each athlete’s feats this year but for now here is the list…

Andy Murray
Jessica Ennis-Hill
Kevin Sinfield
Tyson Fury
Lewis Hamilton
Chris Froome
Mo Farah
Greg Rutherford
Adam Peaty
Lizzie Armitstead
Lucy Bronze
Max Whitlock

After missing the last two ceremonies due to his pre-season commitments, Andy Murray is present at this year’s SPOTY awards in Belfast

And welcome to Sportsmail’s coverage of the 2015 Sports Personality of Year awards. This year’s shortlist is full of deserving candidates – making the winner for the prestigious gong a tough call.

You can follow all the action from Belfast with myself, Luke Augustus, via Sportsmail HERE.



The comments below have been moderated in advance.

The views expressed in the contents above are those of our users and do not necessarily reflect the views of MailOnline.

Who is this week’s top commenter?
Find out now