France beats Ireland and South Africa to host 2023 World Cup

Breaking news

France will host the 2023 Rugby World Cup after beating rival bids from South Africa and Ireland.

A World Rugby council meeting was held in London on Wednesday and France was chosen to host the 10th event.

France, who have staged the competition twice before – in 1991 and 2007 – won in the second round of voting, with 24 votes compared to 15 for South Africa.

Ireland were eliminated in the first round of voting after only getting eight of the 39 votes.

First round of voting: France 18, South Africa 13, Ireland 8.

Second round of voting: France 24, South Africa 15.

South Africa hosted the World Cup in 1995, when the Springboks beat New Zealand 15-12 in the final, and Ireland were one of five joint hosts in 1991.

More to follow.

What Next?

Recent Articles

Leave a Reply

You must be Logged in to post comment.